Downloading Older versions?

Got a problem with Viscosity or need help? Ask here!

sjorge

Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 7:22 pm

Post by sjorge » Thu Jan 26, 2012 7:29 pm
Hi All,

Yesterday I update from 1.2.x to 1.3.x but now I can't get a connection anymore :(
Jan 26 09:24:34: Viscosity 1.3.5 (1120)
Jan 26 09:24:34: Checking reachability status of connection...
Jan 26 09:24:36: Connection is not reachable. Disconnecting
I'd like to try see if going back to 1.2.x fixes it but I can't find a download for the older version.

Kind regards

Jorge

Eric

User avatar
Posts: 1073
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:27 am

Post by Eric » Thu Jan 26, 2012 9:09 pm
Hi Jorge,

Have you tried rebooting your PC since you updated? Your ARP or Routing tables could be out of order or your server might just be down for maintenance as well.

If you're still having problems connecting after a reboot, please send us a copy of your configuration (preferably via email to [email protected] to keep your personal information off the public web) and we can make sure the latest version hasn't done something wrong.

Unfortunately we don't have any older versions readily available.

Regards,

Eric
Eric Thorpe
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

sjorge

Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 7:22 pm

Post by sjorge » Fri Jan 27, 2012 5:07 am
I've pinpointed the problem to the use of a HTTP Proxy with NTLM authentication.

If I put cntlm (tool to do NTLM Authentication and offer a non NTLM Proxy on localhost) between my companies proxy and viscosity I can connect to my ovpn server without issue.

Which is for easy to use this way but at least I can connect again.

Do you still need my config file to help troubleshoot? If so i'll e-mail you a copy (without the certificates ofcourse)

Eric

User avatar
Posts: 1073
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:27 am

Post by Eric » Fri Jan 27, 2012 10:25 am
Hi Jorge,

Do you need to authenticate to the proxy usually and is it popping up? A copy of your config would definitely help (without certificates and any of your addresses censored out is fine). We'll have a look at the way Viscosity is handling proxies to see what's going on and try and get a beta up for you as soon as we can if we find a problem.

Regards,

Eric
Eric Thorpe
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

sjorge

Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 7:22 pm

Post by sjorge » Fri Jan 27, 2012 6:36 pm
I don't mind posting the config publicly without the certificates so I'll post it here to keep this thread complete.
Code: Select all
#-- Config Auto Generated By Viscosity --#

#viscosity name Acheron
#viscosity startonopen false
#viscosity ManageAdapter True
remote vpn.acheron.be 443 tcp-client
dev tun
key key.key
tls-client
persist-key
ca ca.crt
persist-tun
cert cert.crt
auth-user-pass
comp-lzo adaptive
pull
nobind
tun-mtu 1300
http-proxy proxy.local 8080 stdin ntlm
http-proxy-retry
route 172.16.1.0 255.255.255.0 vpn_gateway default
dhcp-option DNS 10.16.1.2
cipher AES-256-CBC
ip-win32 dynamic
route-delay 4
resolv-retry infinite
tls-remote /C=BE/L=Ekeren/O=Acheron/CN=ragnar.acheron.be/[email protected]
auth SHA1
reneg-sec 0
dev-node {508734B1-5005-48B6-A605-592E684D6D7B}
But now that you mention it... I no longer the the popup to provide my user/pass for the HTTP proxy on connect.
Neither do I get the one for the user/pass of the vpn connection it self.

Eric

User avatar
Posts: 1073
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:27 am

Post by Eric » Mon Jan 30, 2012 7:08 pm
Hi Jorge,

Thanks for this, we're looking into the problem.

You mention you're not getting a popup for the VPN Authentication either. Have you saved your credentials for both? If you go to the Advanced section of the Preferences window in Viscosity and then click "Clear All Saved Credentials", do both popups appear again, or only one?

Cheers,

Eric
Eric Thorpe
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

sjorge

Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 7:22 pm

Post by sjorge » Tue Jan 31, 2012 8:21 am
I did save the PW for the VPN it self. But I never cached it for the HTTP Proxy.
My PW is domain integrated and changes weekly.

Clearing the cache only asked for the VPN again.

Eric

User avatar
Posts: 1073
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:27 am

Post by Eric » Tue Jan 31, 2012 11:54 am
Thanks Jorge! That helps us out a lot.

Cheers,

Eric
Eric Thorpe
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

sjorge

Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 7:22 pm

Post by sjorge » Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:22 am
Unfortunately my laptop's hdd died.

I'll try installing fresh on the temp laptop tomorrow to see if that fixes the problem, I doubt it but I guess every test case is useful.

sjorge

Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 7:22 pm

Post by sjorge » Wed Feb 01, 2012 7:32 pm
Some more information based on the install on my temp laptop (XP 32-bit).

This was a clean XP image with no previous OpenVPN or even any VPN software installed.
1. Installed Viscosity
2. Imported my config from my Astaro Gateway
3. Set my NTLM HTTP Proxy under the proxy tab
4. Try and connect
Feb 01 09:27:35: Viscosity 1.3.5 (1120)
Feb 01 09:27:35: Checking reachability status of connection...
Feb 01 09:27:37: Connection is not reachable. Disconnecting.
I tried a ping:
C:\Documents and Settings\jsrae88>ping vpn.acheron.be

Pinging vpn.acheron.be[91.176.155.250] with 32 bytes of dat

Reply from 91.176.155.x: bytes=32 time=59ms TTL=50
Reply from 91.176.155.x: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=50
Reply from 91.176.155.x: bytes=32 time=34ms TTL=50
Reply from 91.176.155.x: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=50

Ping statistics for 91.176.155.x:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 28ms, Maximum = 59ms, Average = 38ms
I was not prompted for any password (VPN or Proxy)
13 posts Page 1 of 2