Split DNS broken with 1.7.3?

Got a problem with Viscosity or need help? Ask here!

chris_childerhose

Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2020 2:16 am

Post by chris_childerhose » Thu Apr 08, 2021 11:31 pm
Hi Eric,

Yeah, I can use nslookup and ping to reach the server just that the connection log shows this same message from the earlier version this post was created for.

I will gather logs and send them off via email versus posting here.

chris_childerhose

Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2020 2:16 am

Post by chris_childerhose » Tue Apr 20, 2021 12:13 am
Something I found with this issue - the newer adapter seems to show these messages while the older Legacy adapter does not. Maybe something to look into.

Eric

User avatar
Posts: 1064
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:27 am

Post by Eric » Tue Apr 20, 2021 4:37 pm
Hi Chris,

This is happening because the new adapter can setup much faster. As the adapter is setup before routes are, there is a brief period where the DNS is not reachable if you need a route added to access the DNS server via the VPN. As was shown in the logs you emailed us, after the routes come up, the log is updated to reflect the DNS server is in use and reachable.

We'll see if we can do something to prevent this message as it can be a bit misleading if the entire log isn't taken into account.

Regards,
Eric
Eric Thorpe
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs
13 posts Page 2 of 2