split dns with multiple simultaneous vpns

Got a problem with Viscosity or need help? Ask here!

hsvlz

Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 7:23 am

Post by hsvlz » Wed Sep 20, 2017 7:26 am
Hi,
I am connected to 2 vpns (server1.com and server2.com) and I have setup in their respective settings to use split dns with their respective domains.
However, as soon as I connect the second vpn, I cannot resolve dns for addresses in server2 domain.

How can I fix this?

Thank you for your help!

James

User avatar
Posts: 1879
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 9:27 pm

Post by James » Wed Sep 20, 2017 11:07 am
Hi hsvlz,

Please make sure that your second VPN connection isn't directing all network traffic through it. If it is it'll likely be preventing your computer from accessing the first connection's DNS server. If you're unsure how to check this please see:
http://www.sparklabs.com/support/kb/art ... connection

Cheers,
James
James Bekkema
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

hsvlz

Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 7:23 am

Post by hsvlz » Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:05 pm
Hi James,

I have tried the following:
- with only 1rst vpn on, both route get 128.0/1 and route get 0/1 return en0 as interface
- with only 2nd vpn on, both route get 128.0/1 and route get 0/1 return en0 as interface

Then with internal dns addresses:
- with only 1rst vpn on, route get x.server1.com returns tun0 as interface, while route get x.server2.com returns en0
- with only 2nd vpn on, route get x.server2.com returns tun0 as interface, while route get x.server1.com returns en0

Then I do the following scenario:
- start 1rst vpn
- route get x.server1.com returns tun0 as interface
- start 2nd vpn
- route get x.server1.com returns tun0 as interface
- route get x.server2.com hangs

(it does the same if I start 2nd vpn first)

How can I fix this?

Thank you

James

User avatar
Posts: 1879
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 9:27 pm

Post by James » Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:11 pm
Hi hsvlz,

It sounds likely there is a routing overlap. Can you please post copies of the OpenVPN log for the first and second connection (while both are connected). Information on how to view the log can be found at:
http://www.sparklabs.com/support/kb/art ... envpn-log/

If you don't want to post the logs in a public forum you can instead email them to us using the contact details at:
https://www.sparklabs.com/support/#contact

Cheers,
James
James Bekkema
Viscosity Developer

Web: http://www.sparklabs.com
Support: http://www.sparklabs.com/support
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sparklabs

hsvlz

Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 7:23 am

Post by hsvlz » Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:39 pm
Hi James,

I have emailed you the logs.

Thank you
5 posts Page 1 of 1